Dark Chocolate Raspberry Kiss Cakes

14 Feb

I have to say… I set out to put my own spin on Martha Stewart’s hi hat cupcakes, hit a couple of road blocks, and then ended up with much cuter cupcakes than hi hats!

The frosting was falling into the chocolate when I went to dip, and while everything was tasting great, I didn’t have the time to let them chill for another 2 hours for official hi hat status. Sooo, I improvised.

Here’s my creation: dark chocolate cupcake with vanilla raspberry Italian meringue frosting, drizzled in chocolate and sprinkled with hearts. Love those neon pink Reynold’s foil cupcake wrappers! I had a lot of fun making these.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

20120214-075957.jpg

20120214-080027.jpg

20120214-080111.jpg

20120214-080415.jpg

20120214-120131.jpg

It was hard to get the pink coloring to show up, but I swear, the frosting is pink!

3 Responses to “Dark Chocolate Raspberry Kiss Cakes”

  1. Nina April 26, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

    where are the recipes for all your cupcakes?? =(

    • mandeelicious April 26, 2012 at 6:46 pm #

      The dark chocolate cake is the recipe I used for the hostess cupcake in the earlier post (http://www.canyoustayfordinner.com/2010/10/26/homemade-hostess-cupcakes/) but using dark cocoa/chocolate and the Italian merengue was the Martha Stewart hi hat topping tweaked and made with raspberry extract instead of vanilla. I would not recommend that frosting recipe because even though it tasted great, it took forever, much longer than the directions specified, and I swear the directions are off.

      • Nina April 28, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

        Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 289 other followers

